Thursday, July 24, 2014

Gelatin free gummy bear type candies.

A new patent has been filed which would enable chewy and gummy products to be made without gelatin. According to the article Wrigley's is especially aware of the need to eliminate gelatin for those who observe dietary restrictions. This probably means vegetarians, observant Jews and Muslims who are strict in following halal rules.
Potentially it means lots of products can be switched to becoming kosher, and those giving heterim for gelatin and gelatin like products can be put out of their misery.
It will be interesting to see how long it takes for this to be applicable.

Best wishes

1 comment:

Alim Govar said...

Does this mean Kolatin will declare bankruptcy AGAIN?